Setting up the event registration details and waitlist

  • Updated

5_copy.jpg

All_plans_.pngBefore setting up tickets for your event, you will need to create global settings for the registrations of the event. 

To do that, go to the Event Dashboard > Registrations > Details

registration.png

Fill in the following fields: 

  • Max Registrations: Maximum number of registrations the event as a whole will accept. If the max registrations count has been reached and registrants try to purchase more tickets, they will either be directed to a waitlist (if the organizer sets up one) or will see a message indicating that the event has been sold out and will be unable to purchase tickets. The Registration Limit field is optional but strongly encouraged. If you leave this blank, it will default to the number of registrations your plan permits.

  • Registration Close Date/Registration Close Time: The exact date/time that registrations will close for an event, after which no new registrations will be accepted. This close date/time will follow the timezone convention set for the event overall. 

  • Registration Close Message: The message that will display in the Registration ticket modal if the registration has been closed or if all tickets have been sold out.

  • Max Tickets per order: The maximum number of tickets that can be purchased by each attendee. This is beneficial for group ticket purchases.
    Note: If you leave this field empty, the attendee will be able to purchase one ticket only. To enable group ticket purchases you need to set up a limit here.
  • Currency: If you are creating paid tickets, select the currency that you would like them to be sold in. If you are only creating free tickets then you don't need to worry about this setting. 

Note: If you allow purchasing tickets in bulk, you will be able to see the attendees on the list only after they confirm the registration. Check out this guide to see how the process of buying tickets in bulk looks like.

How to enable a Waitlist for the event

To enable a waitlist for the event, toggle the button for 'Enable waitlist'. 

waiting_list_2.png

Doing that will bring up the following fields: 

  • Max attendees in waitlist: Max number of waitlist spots for the event as a whole. 
  • Waitlist Close Date/Waitlist Close Time: The exact date/time that waitlists will close for an event, after which no new waitlists will be accepted. This close date/time will follow the timezone convention set for the event.  
  • Successful/Unsuccessful registration from waitlist message: The Organizer can choose to customize the message to be sent to (1) Waitlisted registrants who get the chance to purchase a ticket (2) Waitlisted registrants who don't get the chance to purchase a ticket

Note: The waitlist feature does not act as a reservation system. It only allows the attendee on the waitlist to know when tickets are available via email and it does not automatically reserve a ticket for them. If and when a ticket becomes available they will then need to navigate to the event registration page in order to purchase it.

Who is on the waitlist?

You can go to Event Dashboard > Registrations > Attendees to see who has signed for the waitlist of your event, then select the Waitlist tab to display more details. 

Screenshot_2021-07-10_at_13.37.33.png

You cannot currently retrieve emails for people on your waitlist.

How to contact people on the waitlist

The only way to contact those on the waitlist is by making new tickets available, in which case they will automatically be sent an email to let them know that tickets are available.

There is no way to edit this email in any way. However, once they have registered for your event, you can send them emails through the Event Dashboard > Marketing tab.

What is Widget Authentication?

When widget authentication is disabled, logging into the existing user account isn’t possible and attendees can only checkout as guests. However, if there’s a single public ticket, any user already logged into their account will be taken straight into the event. 

When widget authentication is enabled, attendees can either log into their account or create a new account.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?