How to edit a schedule

  • Updated

organizers_only.jpgAll_plans_.png

You can edit your schedule in many ways before your event, or even when your event is live. You may need to do this if a speaker cancels, if a segment runs over, or perhaps you have simply changed your mind about something!

If you are yet to create a schedule then you can check out our guide to get started. 

How to edit a schedule segment

If you need to make edits to your Schedule you can go to Event Dashboard > Venue > Schedule. Choose the date, and click on the segment you would like to edit to be able to make any changes.

Alternatively, you can click the three dots by the schedule which will give you the option to edit the schedule, duplicate the schedule, or remove the schedule completely. 

edit_schedule.png

Click Save when finished and your event will update when your attendees click refresh or move to another area of the event.

Duplicating a scheduled segment

When you click the three dots, as we showed above, select Duplicate and it will open a pop-up allowing you to edit your duplicate segment. 

Image_10-4-2021_at_3.25_PM.jpg

It is the same as the page you will see when you first create a scheduled segment, therefore fill out the information according to our guidelines above. Once you are finished click Save and you will see your new segment in the time slot you selected. 

Note: if you would like to adjust the date, first you must input the times, then adjust the end date and finally the start date. 

Removing bulk schedule segments

There are two ways you can remove a segment from your schedule. The first is the way that we outlined previously when editing your schedule segments. However, you can also remove schedule segments in bulk by going to your Event Dashboard > Venue > Schedule and going to the day that you would like to remove segments from. Select the box in the top left corner of the schedule page. 

bulk_remove_new.png

This will select all of the segments on that day then you can deselect any you would like to keep by checking the tick box on each individual segment. 

Alternatively, you can select a specific segment by checking the box, click on the small triangle at the top of the screen and then choose to select all other segments before or after that specific segment. 

bulk_remove_segments_new_2.png

Click Remove and a pop up will ask if you are sure you would like to delete the selected segments, hit Delete and they will be permanently removed. 

bulk_remove_segments_new_3.png

How to bulk shift schedule segments

If you need to change the time of one schedule segment but would also like to shift those thereafter to mirror this change, you can now shift all of your schedule segments in bulk. 

Head to your Event Dashboard > Venue > Schedule, find the schedule segment you would like to change and tick the box next to it. Then, select the small triangle near the top of the page and a small drop down will appear prompting you to choose the following options:

  • All - will select all of the segments in your schedule
  • All successive segments - will select all of the segments occurring after the one you have selected
  • All previous segments - will select all of the segments that occurred before the one you have selected
  • None - will deselect any segments that are highlighted

Note: This function will only select segments on the same day and not for the whole event.bulk_move_segments.png

Once you have made your selection, click Shift schedule and you will see a screen where you can choose to move the selected segments later or earlier and by how many minutes. If adjusting the segments affects your event's end time, you will see a small note to tell you the new end time. 

Note: You will not be able to extend your event past the maximum event length, as set by your plan. 

bulk_move_segments_3.png

It's important to note that if you shift the scheduled segments through to the following or previous day, they will be shown next to any existing segments for that day. 

How to display Sessions before and after the scheduled time

By default, scheduled sessions do not show up on the Sessions tab of the event until 5 minutes before the scheduled time, and are removed 5 minutes after the end time. However, this can be adjusted if you navigate to your Event Dashboard >Setup > Basics and then click on Advanced Settings.

Screenshot_2021-10-09_at_12.56.44.png

The minimum time is 5 minutes for both but there is no maximum time for how long it can be displayed.

Feel free to reach out to us at support@hopin.com in case you have questions or need assistance.

Was this article helpful?